Waiting is finally (and never) over!

The waiting is finally over. Or, at least the waiting for things to get started is over. Waiting is part of travelling, so, inevitably here I am waiting even after the waiting period of the adventure is over. At the time, I’m sitting in a busy transit hall at London Heathrow airport – the trip to Seoul has started. We have about 3 hours until our next flight, which will take us to Hong Kong. In Hong Kong more waiting awaits, namely 8 hours until the last connecting flight to Seoul. However, waiting can be perceived and experienced in different ways. As with the waiting before the trip started one can choose to do well with the excess of time, in this case we have decided to make use of it. Simply, we’ve decided to visit Hong Kong. According to various blogs it should be easy enough to do in a couple of hours. For the moment though we’re waiting (a bit more) for a reply from our friend living in HK. Dinner with him would suit us perfectly fine when we get there. However, if he, on such short notice as our lack of planning has brought with us, cannot see us, there will be a decision to make. The decision composes one main consideration; adjusting to the time difference. As a matter of fact, we should be fast asleep at the moment (6pm + 9 hours makes 3 am in Seoul), but we’re not. And if everything goes according to plan tonight’s flight will be carried through awake. Landing in HK local time tomorrow afternoon, translates into a few (I don’t know how many) hours of not sleeping. Then, we spend a night out in HK before the flight leaves at 1 am, yes here my plan is to SLEEP, and arrives in Seoul 5.30 am (local time), which leaves us with the whole day ahead of us! I don’t have to emphasize the sensed lack of sleep we face. So, to sleep on the flight to HK or not? To visit HK or not? (YEEES! on the last one I believe)
 
London, England brings back memories of other adventures on the islands of Britain. My first one was conducted in high school as a project with some friends in my class. Together we travelled to London to find out more about tea, the interview with a tea sommelier and kids in a drama class highlights the trip together with a tea tasting with an eccentric man owning a tea shop in the city center. I remember him telling us about tea, his sister and their experiences of WWII, and tea again. My second time in Britain was with another dear friend, to Scotland. When typing this I sit facing a Boots pharmacy, and I clearly remember my and my friend’s search for gas to our camping equipment. We were in Edinburgh and was heading out camping the same day, our research had showed us that the gas was easily found in the city and since it was impossible to bring on the flight we had no choice but finding it on site. However, there was none to be found anywhere! Luckily, after hours of searching, someone suggested that we would check with Boots, and the pharmacy had three bottles left hidden away. Lucky us! The trip was fabulous and we cooked our food in gratefulness (thanks to the gas…)! Not Britain, but close enough (not really no), was my and my mum’s trip to Dublin one and a half year ago. I think of Guinness and a lovely time!
 
It’s interesting how a place, or rather the perception and view of the place can bring back memories without actually being the same geographic place. I mean, I am in London, but I haven’t been here before, at Heathrow. But, just by knowing I’m in the very same city as I’ve been before makes me think of these previous experiences connected to the place. And, Boots will forever be related to that Scotland trip, for sure.
 
I guess waiting should never be underestimated time. One never knows what will happen.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0